Cozy by the Stove

Hello one and all!

These last two weeks haven’t been very eventful, but it sure has felt like winter.  As much as I enjoy it, I find myself craving flowers and plant life, leading to this particular photograph:

 

Snowflowers

 

Although nothing much has changed much in terms of decoration, something has changed in terms in terms of my habits – I have been cooking more often than it used to.  Just last week, I cooked something that evokes a cozy feeling for me: stuffed peppers.  I hadn’t eaten them in years, and I had never made them from scratch before.  So when I found a recipe, the logical next step would be to (you guessed it) follow the recipe.

 

Stuffed Pepper Recipe
Taken from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook, published 1986

 

Yet somehow I thought it would be a bright idea ignore that course of action and instead modify a significant portion of it with no past experience to draw on. Luckily for the people who were eating it, it worked pretty well.

 

These were taken before being placed in the oven, as we were too hungry to take pictures after! The only visual changes once fully cooked were the darkened tops and wrinkled peppers. I actually preferred the peppers far closer to raw, so one day I will have to sit down and experiment with that. In any case, if anyone is interested, here is the recipe for my version.

 

Miss Hued Peppers

 

Ingredients:

2 Italian sausages, uncased and cut into small pieces

1 cup brown rice

1 can seasoned diced tomatoes (I used one with basil, garlic, and oregano)

1/2 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

Olive oil

Salt

Pepper

Oregano

5 green bell peppers, cleaned with tops removed

 

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F
  2. Cook brown rice as directed on the package.
  3. Cook sausage in a pan with oil, onions, and garlic.
  4. Add tomatoes to the pan and mix.
  5. Season with salt, pepper, and oregano.
  6. Add the cooked rice to the pan and mix.
  7. Fill peppers with the mixture and place in/on an oven-safe pan or baking sheet.
  8. Place peppers in preheated oven for 45 minutes.
  9. ENJOY!

 

If anyone makes this, please let me know how it turns out. I would love to hear about any changes you tried or any suggestions you have for me.

As a side note, apologies for the crummy images. I only have the camera on my phone, and it hasn’t been taking very good pictures. I will try to deliver better quality in the future.

Until next time, much love and Happy Winter!

Leave a Reply

