What is Miss Hued?

 

Hello one and all!

I have been absent from this blog for many months now, and a lot has happened in that time in both my personal life and the world around me.   Due to these changes, I want to come back to what I started with a different approach; however, before I discuss that, I must tell you what Miss Hued is.

When I first began thinking about a name, I liked the idea of being a “miss”-something; I was especially drawn to the possibilities of word play. Eventually I settled on Miss Hued, due to my initial focus on the colors and beauty of the natural world. The idea of “miss-hued” as a description was also fitting for myself, and I think for many people. Living in a world where everything must be classified and labeled, it’s all too easy to feel as though we have been painted with the wrong brush.

We are complex people, with differing ideas and pasts that sometimes make people at odds with one another. Labels tend to focus on one aspect of a person, and can sometimes cause the rest to be ignored. So in a way, perhaps we are all “miss-hued”.

This brings me to why I write this today. It has become increasingly clear that the country I live in is deeply divided, and I doubt this issue is exclusive to my homeland. There are so many people who don’t understand those who disagree with them, and maybe some who don’t even try.

I started this blog in an attempt to better appreciate the world around me. I started with the natural world and the beauty of each season, and moved on to include appreciating the beauty I could create inside my own home. My last post was inspired by the love of my life, and I realized (or re-remembered) how important it is to appreciate those around me.

After recent events, I feel we all also need to see the positive news in the world and appreciate the beauty of goodness. While we cannot avoid the bad news, we must take that as well and learn from it to note where we can improve as a society and as individuals.

 

With all of this in mind, I want to try something new in this blog. As we (myself and you, the reader) live out our daily lives, let us appreciate the good in all things while learning from the bad.

 

EDIT:  The following is a post format that I fully intended on sticking to when I wrote this.; however, I quickly learned that it was a little too rigid for my scattered brain, as well as requiring more research and planning than I may have time for in any given week.  Please do check out the post I did write in this format, and let me know if you would like me to bring it back!

 

Future posts will consist of short segments on a few different topics:

 

1) Beauty in our environment – in which I will share a moment or a picture of something that stood out to me as I travel around, whether I am in my home city or traveling elsewhere.

2) Beauty in the home – in which I will share my own successes or ideas as I do all the things that make a home feel like home, be that decorating, organizing, cooking, and so on.

3) Beauty in people – in which I will share a story of a person who did something good in the world, be that an act of art, or kindness, or whatever else may touch my heart.

4) Hope in understanding – in which I share a less-heartwarming story, and try to understand and empathize with all the actions therein. I will try to be as fair and unbiased as one person can possibly be, and suggest any ways we can improve or prevent such issues.

 

Please leave a comment and let me know what you think of this idea, or whether you have a suggestion for me to improve it going forward.

 

As always, much love, and Happy November!

Leave a Reply

