Post-its and Candles and Bears, Oh My!

Hello one and all!

 

I hope those of you who celebrate Thanksgiving had a wonderful holiday, and those who did not, a wonderful week! It’s finally the beginning of December, which means I can put up winter decorations and play Christmas music without feeling like I’m ahead of the season. This makes me quite happy, as this is my favorite time of year – despite me no longer celebrating the holiday religiously.

 

But without further ado, let’s discuss the topics of the week!

 

Beauty in our Environment:

Whilst traipsing around this week, I discovered that a Girl Scout Troop had put lovely messages on a wall in order to spread some happiness and good will for Thanksgiving, as well as providing materials for other people to do the same. I couldn’t help but take pictures of some of them to share.

 

Beauty in the Home:

I may have a candle problem. Early this year I was bemoaning my lack of candles, but now I have an entire drawer dedicated to them! My current favorite is Yankee Candle’s “Under the Mistletoe”, which is the only one I could find from them that actually smells anything like a Christmas tree. Why the candles actually designed to smell like trees did not, well, I couldn’t tell you. I did have “Citrus Holiday” lit for a while, and although it smells lovely, after a little while it starts being a little cloying and I have to blow it out. I do want to branch out from them a bit and find other brands to explore that are good but won’t break the bank. If you have any suggestions, please let me know!

candle-collection

 

Beauty in People:

I learned this week of a boy named Campbell Remess, who spends all his days in front of a sewing machine making stuffed animals for sick children in hospitals. He has been doing this for three years now, and shows no signs of stopping. It’s a wonderful thing to see someone doing good for other people, and something I feel we don’t see often enough. Sometimes that’s due to deeds performed quietly, but perhaps it is also due to people feeling that they don’t have the time or the money to help anyone. So perhaps now is the time to think about our lives and ask ourselves what one thing can we do, however small, that will help someone in need. Perhaps it is donating money to organizations with better resources than we have, or to people like Campbell who relies on donations to fund his mission to make sick children happy. Perhaps it is volunteering in our own communities, in shelters, soup kitchens, or wherever help is needed. Perhaps it is making something that will comfort or warm another human being. I think about this here and there, but I find I never do anything – I want to change that. We all have something someone else wants, and surely there is a way for us to share that with others.

Do you do something small for others? Please share what you do , or ideas you have for small things that even people with little time or money can do.

Source: http://www.today.com/parents/12-year-old-makes-800-stuffed-animals-sick-kids-t104476

 

Hope in Understanding:

As last week was Thanksgiving, we also had Black Friday. On this day, in the USA, three people died and seven were injured due to related incidents. One person died in an altercation over a parking spot, while another was killed because he attempted to intervene when a woman was being beaten. Violence happens every day, this is sadly nothing new. But Thanksgiving is about family and being grateful, and Black Friday now starts on Thanksgiving. What are we celebrating every November? Are we celebrating family, even if many people choose to wait on long lines for stores who stay open and keep all their employees from being with their loved ones on this holiday? Are we giving thanks, when instead of being grateful for what we have, we hit store after store in an attempt to have more? In light of all this, is Thanksgiving a holiday worth celebrating? Or is it just an obstacle to the Christmas season?

What is important to us as people, as families, as a country?

This last question is something I think we should all strive to answer as we move into the new year.

Source: http://blackfridaydeathcount.com/

 

So, my dear reader, what do you think of my new format? Is there something you want me to talk about? Ask me below, or email me directly at misshued@gmail.com.

 

As always, much love, and Happy December!

One thought on “Post-its and Candles and Bears, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

