Reflections: Revisited

Hello one and all!

What do you want to gain by keeping a journal?

Most of my journals throughout my childhood, or diaries as I usually called them, were filled with boring tales and complaints.  The entries were pages long, started neat and ended messy, contained obsessive documentation of my friendships, and for a few months were written in Tolkien’s elvish script.  Those hours I spent hunched over my pen didn’t leave me with much more than bad posture and prescription glasses; there was rarely anything worth looking back on, nor any personal growth accomplished through my ramblings.

As an adult, I could never commit to a journal for very long.  I attempted to write in the manner I was used to, but felt I had nothing of interest or importance to make a record of.  So I turned to store-bought journals that prompted me with questions; they tended to be too restrictive in their scope and the space I was provided for answers.  I would rarely look forward to writing in them, and it wouldn’t take long for them to be tossed aside.  Once again, nothing was gained from the endeavor.

This year, I decided I wanted to try again.  I wouldn’t wander aimlessly through a blank notebook, nor would I purchase yet another book of prompts.

I compiled a list of my own prompts and questions that I would write out myself, and I have kept to that list.  Every evening, or occasionally the morning after, I reflect on the past day.  I have found that this method gives me the structure lacking in my childhood ramblings while providing the freedom lacking in store-bought journals.

Furthermore, I have found that I look forward to writing at the end of each day, even if it keeps me up a little later.  My outlook on life has been more positive, my anger is less prolonged, and my productivity has spiked.  I don’t just think about these questions when I sit down with my pen; I think about them throughout the day.  When I choose to eat poorly, I do so knowing I will hold myself accountable when I ask how I could have been healthier.  When something good happens, I hold it in my mind to record later (which also tends to keep me in a happier mindset).  When I can’t decide whether I will do a task that needs doing, I consider how I will want to record it when writing about what I accomplished that day.  When I am irritated, I ask myself then and there whether it is worth the energy to be bothered over.

I have found something that works for me now, and I hope I continue this practice for quite some time.

Do you keep a journal?  What are your reasons and methods?  How have they changed over the years?

As always, much love, and happy writing!

One thought on “Reflections: Revisited

  1. I do like to keep a separate book, where I reflect about life and self-improvement, but keeping a journal really wasn’t ever for me. I’m glad it works for you though, and aiding in your own personal growth 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

