Food Habits

Hello one and all!

Why do you eat?

I eat to relieve boredom, to feel comforted, to feel pleasure, and oh right, to nourish my body.

The problem is that I focus on all these reasons except the last one.  I stuff my face with chocolate, ice cream, Lunchables pizza (my weakness), or quite frankly whatever requires the least effort on my part.

It’s not that I don’t like to cook.  I actually LOVE to cook and bake.  Here’s the problem though – I am the only one who cooks in my household, but I grew up not cooking much at all (being gopher or chopper doesn’t count).  When I moved out, it was a harsh transition from cooking out of desire to cooking every single day!  I know all about meal prepping, believe me, but I prepped ingredients instead of meals due to my personal preference (mainly because leftovers for lunch is fine, less so for dinner).  It actually worked extremely well for a time, but spending five hours every weekend at a cutting board became a daunting task due to other life events.

I’m still trying to get back into cooking on a regular basis, but quite frankly, it’s hard!  I burned out the last time I did it regularly, and honestly, I’m lazy.

That being said, I can no longer ignore that final reason for filling my body with food: it’s the fuel for my body.  I wouldn’t want my child to eat only sugar and carbs, so why do I let myself do that very same thing?  Every day I think about what I could have done to be healthier, and the answer is the same nearly every day: I need to eat more vegetables and drink more water.  I actually like vegetables, so why is this so hard?  It’s hard because it requires more effort!

So how am I going to fix this?

I can’t jump back into weekly prep and daily cooking, that much is clear, so I will start small for the moment.  I’ll have frozen vegetables split up into containers to be heated up with butter (hey, I said more vegetables, not less fat!), hard-boiled eggs made in batches, and more hardy fruit in the fridge that won’t go bad in the blink of an eye.

Will this work for me?  I don’t know, but I can’t afford to not try something.

Do you need to work on your food habits?  How do you keep yourself eating healthy?  Let me know!

As always, much love, and happy eating!

Leave a Reply

