Birdhouses

Hello one and all!

Since painting a wooden coffin for Halloween, I’ve wanted to find a new project in a similar vein.  So when I saw some small birdhouses in craft store, I knew this was what I wanted to do next.

 

I didn’t go in with a plan, I just laid out everything I had to work with.

2017-02-birdhouses-supplies

As you can see, nothing here is high-end at all, but that wasn’t going to stop me from having a little fun!

First step was painting.  I probably should have sanded the wood first, but quite frankly I didn’t want to.  I’m obviously a pro at this. 😀

2017-02-birdhouses-winter-painted

I went with a winter theme using teal, white, and blue paints.  After my prior experience with oils, I chose to stick with acrylic for this project.  Once I had the base done, I wanted to add a bit more… sparkle.

I used some cheap silver glitter glue all around the bottom, and sprinkled pink beads on top to add a little cheerfulness and suggest the beginning of spring.  I’m quite happy with this birdhouse.

 

Given that it’s February, I also wanted to do something for Valentine’s day.  I painted the other heart birdhouse in red and pink, but I felt I could do something different.  I added red glitter glue to the red paint, and repainted the roof.  Initially I thought the experiment was a failure, until I took some sandpaper to it.

My experimentation with the beads did not work as well on this.  The hot glue gun was a bit too cheap I think, as it did not heat the glue quite enough for what I needed.  It applied too thickly and cooled too quickly, resulting in a sad-looking line of lumps.  As a result, I ended up applying gold glitter glue on top and around the other sides as a base for the clear beads.

I can’t say I am too thrilled with this one.  I think I should have gone for a white and red paint job instead, and of course done something better with the bottom border.  The one thing about this birdhouse I was quite pleased with is the glittery roof.  Especially after the initial disappointment, I was quite happy to see it worked exactly as I imagined it would.

 

I still have one birdhouse left, but I’m not sure what I want to do with it.  I’d like to experiment with the clay I have, and make flowers or something to attach.  If I do revisit this project, I’ll be sure to let you know!

As always, much love, and happy crafting!

2017-02-birdhouses-both-finished

One thought on “Birdhouses

Leave a Reply

