Pushing Limits

Hello one and all!

I have a bad habit of doing things I shouldn’t because I don’t want to be held back.  Perhaps I didn’t realize how frequent it was until this past week, when I injured my wrist.  My dominant hand was almost unusable the first day, and while it has gotten better every day since, I keep pushing the limits and being reminded painfully of my injury whenever I lift something heavy, turn a key, or brush my hair.

I should just let it rest and heal.  I know that, but I ignore even myself.  This is hardly the first time I have done such a thing; I have struggled with other potential medical issues for quite a long time, but I have never gone to determine whether they exist or how large of a problem they really are.  I know they may be legitimate reasons for some of the difficulties I have had in my life, but I grew up being taught about “mind over matter”.  Getting diagnosed could lead to getting medicated.  Getting medicated means I failed to overcome my issues; it means I wasn’t strong enough.  I know how problematic and unhealthy that line of thinking is, and I have lost count of how many times I encouraged others to seek help for their issues while I continue to ignore my own.

I won’t get them resolved now, due to other factors, but I will soon.  This is part of what it means to be an adult: facing necessary duties and getting them done even when I don’t like them.

Is there something you’ve needed to address?  Have you been ignoring something that could be harmful to your physical or mental health?  Think about why you have let it go untreated, and consider seeing someone in order to address it.  Most things are better discussed sooner than later, and unfortunately some things can be left so long that there is nothing that can be done.  Don’t leave it that long.

As always, much love, and good health.

Leave a Reply

