Fun On My Own

Hello one and all!

What does your ideal vacation experience consist of?  Most of my favorite childhood memories come from family trips, and an anniversary getaway remains a bright point in the last few years.  Even so, I have never taken a trip somewhere to spend time alone.  To some extent, many activities are just more fun when experienced with someone else, but taking a solo vacation affords time for self-reflection and relaxation.

It’s easy to spend time with others, but sometimes spending time with ourselves is one of the most difficult things to arrange.  It may not be hard to get time alone, but I spend much of that time planning what I need to do or, quite frankly, lazing about in a manner I end up feeling guilty over.  I don’t spend much quality time by myself, seeking out experiences beyond staring at a screen of one kind or another.

I want to explore a place I have never been, roll around in a huge bed I don’t have to share, do things like go jet skiing (which I haven’t done in years), and spend time in the sun actually reading a physical book in its entirety.

It will probably be a few years before I can take a trip like that, but it’s something I can keep in mind and work towards.

Do you prefer vacations alone or with others?  What would you spend your time doing?

As always, much love!

Leave a Reply

